Creative Elements Reflection

I really didn’t know how to react to this class, even though the back and forths I’d been having with the instructors alluded that it would be very demanding and heavy on team work. I was actually pleasantly surprised to find that I wasn’t as stressed about the work load as I thought I’d be. If anything, I felt happiest when it was two in the morning and I was finishing up my part in a group assignment. Though I’m never one to be excited about working in groups, the people I got to interact with were amazingly welcoming and patient, even when my pushiness to leave as soon as possible grew to be too obvious.

I never know what to expect when I enter a classroom, but I have to say that for once I enjoyed the mystery of what we’d be doing, for it was rarely whatever the instructor said it would be. I liked the sudden switching of projects, the casualness of the instructors, and the encouragement of communication among the other students. There were times when I was learning more by myself or with friends.

Probably my favorite part about the class however, was being introduced to new approached to ideas that I hadn’t considered before. The character’s thoughts instead of their actions, the inner workings of the worlds we created, the encouragement to take apart common ideas until they were something small, yet original, the stretch of emotion in the face; all of these were trains of thought that hadn’t crossed my mind before, and I loved it.

If I had one complaint, it would be of my own performance in the course, and the ever gnawing sense of dissatisfaction with my own effort. I know it’s on me to learn how to stomp that out, but it’s something that’s become stronger since I began classes here. I never feel as though my work is good enough, or plentiful enough compared  to the output of my classmates. I feel as though I try my hardest in this first semester, despite everything I have to show for it. So I guess all I can do is work even harder than I did for the upcoming semester. I can’t really do anything but keep pushing myself and hope the feeling goes away already.

All in all, I’m looking forward to using what I’ve learned from Creative elements in my upcoming years at Ulster University.

Leave a Reply

