Elsie Wright and Frances Griffiths

So while in the midst of scrambling to finish my photography project, I realized I would really love to stage some photos instead of capturing natural moments.The desire reminded me of the Cottingley Fairy event, and  I kind of took a few breaks in between shots to dig around to find my favorite photos. The photos are genuinely very beautiful, and honestly considering these were taken by two children in the early 20th century, they’re very impressive. They were good enough to fool Arthur Conan Doyle, who published them in The Strand magazine.

Though the excitement was later for naught, as the girls admitted to faking the photos using cardboard cut outs from story books. (Though they claim the last and fifth photo was real.)

So, I intend to try and replicate at least some of the photos this weekend. Here’s my little fairy lady

15451449_1143976819031248_1123976581_n

We’ll see how it goes

 

(Photos taken by Elsie Wright, and  Frances Griffiths, 1917-1920)

Leave a Reply

